PERSEKUTUAN MAJIKAN-MAJIKAN MALAYSIA

MALAYSIAN EMPLOYERS FEDERATION (Reg. No: 1357-SELANGOR)

HEAD OFFICE: 3A06 – 3A07, Block A, Pusat Dagangan Phileo Damansara II, No. 15, Jalan 16/11, Seksyen 16, 46350 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia. P.O. Box 11026, 50732 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Tel: 603-7955 7778 Fax: 603-7955 6808/7955 9008 E-mail: mef-hq@mef.org.my

Press Release

Dato' Dr Syed Hussain is the new elected MEF President

DATO' Dr Syed Hussain Syed Husman J.P. was elected as the new President of the Malaysian Employers Federation (MEF) at its first Council Meeting following the AGM that was held at the Holiday Villa Hotel and Conference Centre in Subang Jaya today.

Dato' Dr Syed Hussain takes over from incumbent President Tan Sri Azman Shah Dato' Seri Haron who is bestowed the President Emeritus position.

The four elected Vice Presidents are Encik Mohd Farid Shah bin Mohd Basir, Dato' J. Palaniappan, Encik Mohd Syukri Ahmad Sudari and Puan Anne Kung Soo Ching. Dato' Ahmad Nadzarudin Abdul Razak was elected as the Honorary Treasurer.

Dato' Dr Syed Hussain, who is the Executive Director of SVTT Resources Sdn Bhd, thanked all the Council members for their commitment and contributions in the past years.

"I hope the Council members will continue to support me as President of MEF. I am taking over the leadership at a very critical time as these are very difficult times.

"Though we try to regain our momentum, the 'new normal' and new global direction continue to pose very tough challenges.

"As we weather this storm together, I call on the employer community to remain united and steadfast, and to continue to give support to MEF so that effective representations can be made to the government.

"In the interest of employers, this is critical for the future way forward."

Full line up of MEF Council 2020-2022 – President: Dato' Dr. Syed Hussain Syed Husman J.P.; President Emeritus: Tan Sri Azman Shah Dato' Seri Haron; Vice Presidents: En Mohd Farid Shah Mohd Basir, Dato' J. Palaniappan, En. Mohd Syukri Ahmad Sudari, Pn. Anne Kung Soo Ching; Honorary Treasurer: Dato' Ahmad Nadzarudin Abdul Razak; Council Members: Puan Nadiah Tan Abdullah, En. Abdul Wahab Abu Bakar, Dato' Sri Tan Thian Poh, Dato' Dr Lim Weng Khuan, En. Izham Ab Wahab, En. Edwin Yeap Khoo Soon, En. Zulkifly Abdul Rahman.

Association Members: Assoc. Prof Dr Michael Chiam Tow Hui (Commercial Employers' Association of Malaysia), Tn. Hj. Mohamad Audong (Malaysian Agricultural Producers Association), Dato' S.S. Subramaniam (Malaysian Chamber of Mines (MCM), Puan Anne Kung Soo Ching (Sarawak Chamber of Commerce and Industry), En. Mohd Syukri Ahmad Sudari (Association of Insurance Employers), En. Christopher Raj (Association of Hotel Employers), Datuk Nora Abdul Manaf (Malayan Commercial Banks' Association); En. Alan Khoo Choom Kwong (Sabah Employers Consultative Association); Eminent Persons (by appointment): En. A. Ramadass, Puan Peggy Chew Being Being

For further information, contact the MEF Secretariat at 03-7955-7778 or fax 03-7955-9008 or email mef-hq@mef.org.my.

17 SEPTEMBER 2020

NORTHERN REGION SOUTHERN REGION EAST COAST REGION PERAK OFFICE

- Suite 5, Level 15, Wisma TNB, No.30, Jalan Anson, 10400 Penang. Tel: 604-227 9909 (DL) / 226 9236 Fax: 604-226 9873 E-mail: mefpg@mef.org.my

- Unit 22-03A, Level 22, Menara MSC Cyberport, No.5, Jalan Bukit Meldrum, 80300 Johor Bahru, Johor. Tel: 607-226 4776 Fax: 607-226 5773 E-mail: mefjb@mef.org.my

- B-404, 1st Floor, Jalan Berserah, 25300 Kuantan, Pahang. **Tel**: 609-567 9152 **Fax**: 609-567 9153 **E-mail**: mefktn@mef.org.my

- A-1-3, 1st Floor, Wisma MFCB, No.1, Persiaran Greentown 2, Green Town Business Centre, 30450 Ipoh, Perak. Tel: 605-255 7778 / 605-255 9778 Fax: 605-255 2778 E-mail: mefip@mef.org.my

EAST MALAYSIA REGION - 07-01B, Level 7, Somerset Gateway Building, Jalan Bukit Mata, 93100 Kuching, Sarawak. Tel: 082-247 027 Fax: 082-247 028 E-mail: mefkch@mef.org.my